Who we Are

Our Team


We are passionate about student achievement and relentless when it comes to school success. Our strong partnerships with teachers, educators, and staff helps schools to stay on track and meet the student-achievement goals they have set.

Board of Directors

Nancy Madden, Ph.D.
Chairman of the Board, Co-Founder, and CEO

Dr. Madden is the CEO of the Success for All Foundation, and a professor at the Center for Research and Reform in Education at the School of Education at Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Madden graduated from Reed College in 1973, and received her PhD in Clinical Psychology from American University in 1980. Since 1980, she has worked at the Center for Research and Reform in Education (CRRE) and earlier centers at Johns Hopkins University, where she has directed the development of the reading, writing, tutoring, language arts, and mathematics elements of Success for All, a comprehensive school reform program. An expert in literacy and instruction, Dr. Madden is the author or co-author of many articles and books on cooperative learning, tutoring, prevention of need for special education, and education of disadvantaged students, including Effective Programs for Students at Risk (Allyn & Bacon, 1989) and Two Million Children: Success for All (Corwin, 2009).  Current research interests include computer-assisted tutoring strategies, effects of vision services on achievement, and comprehensive school reform.

Barbara Haxby-Brady
Board Member

Barbara Haxby-Brady served as Vice President of Professional Development at the Success for All Foundation from 1998-2015, and during this time, directed all aspects of professional development for SFA staff and for 1,100 schools in the U.S. She is the primary developer of the Getting Along Together program, the Solutions program, and the Leading for Success program, which guide schools in school-wide prevention planning and problem solving, as well as parent involvement. In addition, Ms. Haxby-Brady worked closely with the Center for Data Driven Reform in Education at Johns Hopkins University to develop ongoing leadership and data analysis training and professional development for school districts. She is a co-author of Two Million Children, which describes 20 years of development of the Success for All program. She currently spends most of her free time climbing mountains in Colorado, where she resides with her husband.

Kent McGuire, Ph.D.
Board Member

Kent McGuire is the Program Director of Education at the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation. He leads the investments of our deeper learning and open educational resources strategies, with a focus on helping all students succeed in college, work and civic life. Kent is a veteran of the national education movement for public education.  Previously, Kent was the President and CEO of the Southern Education Foundation, an organization committed to advancing public education in the American South, with a focus on equity and excellence. Prior to that, he served as the Dean of the College of Education at Temple University and was a tenured professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies.  From 2001 to 2003, Kent was a senior vice president at the Manpower Demonstration Research Corporation, where he split his time between research projects on school reform and directing its department on education, children and youth. He has also been an education program officer at the Pew Charitable Trusts and directed the education program at the Lilly Endowment. Kent served as Assistant Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education from 1998 to 2001.  Kent earned his Ph.D. in public administration from the University of Colorado, an M.A. from Columbia University Teacher’s College, and a B.A in economics from the University of Michigan. He serves on the boards of the Wallace Foundation, the Institute for Education Leadership, and the Panasonic Foundation.

William Hodgetts
Board Member

Mr. Hodgetts is currently a consultant for business and finance matters for independent schools. He worked over 30 years as a Chief Financial Officer for independent schools in the Baltimore area, where he worked as a strategic partner with the Head of School and Board of Directors for developing the appropriate policies and programs to fulfill the school’s mission. He oversaw the budgeting, accounting, auxiliary programs, maintenance, housekeeping and business matters for the school. Prior to that he worked 3 years in accounting for a real estate development company (The Rouse company) and 3 years in construction management for projects in Baltimore City. After moving to Baltimore in the mid-70’s, he worked 3 years in a neighborhood housing center focused on neighborhood organizing and improved housing in inner-city communities.

Executive Leadership Team

Julie Wible

Executive Director

(219) 898-0556

Peg Weigel

Director of Operations

(800) 548-4998, ext. 2320

Kenly Novotny

Director of Program Support

(800) 548-4998

Amanda Nappier

Director of Implementation

(419) 350-4846

Lilia Limon

Director of Expansion Strategy

(520) 977-7333

Debbie Chrestensen

Director of Implementation

(719) 964-5519